Roleplayer looking for a community to join~

CaffeineCoyote

I suppose I could start by saying I'm fairly new to Second Life. However I was lead here under the premise that there were many different roleplaying communities here. I have a firm understanding of general roleplay etiquette and I am willing to learn the more intricate rules unique to Second Life. I have been roleplaying through various mediums for a solid 8 years, in videogames, over email and chat programs, forums, and even in real life with Dungeons&Dragons. As far as a character goes, I am slowly piecing together an anthropomorphic Fennec fox to become an escaped slave turned wanderer, a mischievous thief or an up and coming mage exploring the world to learn more about the arcane arts. These are just ideas and I would actually really like to talk to someone to get input so I can fashion a more in-depth character as well as join a roleplaying community Rather than just face-checking everything, I thought I might cast my line out and see what kind of help I can fish up. So I hope to hear from someone and find that roleplaying sim just right for me that I can become a part of and hopefully make the experience just a bit more rich for everyone involved~

I don't normally post here, but I figure I'd try to point you in the right direction:

Gor (Gorean) is one of SL's most populous roleplaying communities, based on the series written by John Frederick Lange.  It can be difficult to break into, but rewarding.  It would not allow non-human characters beyond the odd wild animal or Kurii, which are basically aliens.  Website:  http://www.gor-sl.com/index.php

Realm of Estara is another spot I've roleplayed in briefly, and probably one of the more robust and well managed fantasy SIMs I've seen.  I believe they would allow your type of character there, but I don't remember the rules around animal-esque avatars.  Website:  http://www.realmofestara.com/