New Pivot Trick?

Drongle McMahon

I started playing with the Project Importer viewer, and I wondered what happened to the pivot and the physics when the uploader split a model into two objects when you have more than eight materials (the release viewer just drops the geometry with the extra materials). It turns out that the pivot stays where it was for the whole model, and the physics, at least hull-based physics, is properly split. This gives a new way to make offset pivots, for example for a door hinge.

Here is a simple door model. In Blender (top left) the colours are the ten materials; the 8-colour tab has the first eight materials in the list, and the door has the last two (grey). When this is imported with the Project Importer viewer, you get a linkset with two prims (top right). The root is the tab, with the first eight materials, and the door is the other. When you unlink and select just the door, the pivot is still along the hinge position (lower left). The physics was made using Analyze on the high LOD, and here is the physics of the unlinked door after deleting the tab (lower right) - just as it should be, and it does indeed rotate about the hinge, manually, or with a script. No extra triangles needed.

Of course there is absolutely no guarantee that this will find its way into a release viewer.

dor.jpg